PDA

View Full Version : Double charged an XDm

cjd3
26 August 2017, 15:13
So this happened almost 2 months ago. I've been reloading for 5 years now, and up until this point, never double charged a pistol round. I don't know what happened this go around, but I unluckily double charged 2 rounds out of 200 loaded. I found out about the first round at the range. It was louder than normal, and my face and hand got a little peppered. Thankfully, I was wearing eye protection, and nothing was permanent. The slide locked up, and I immediately dropped the mag, or at least I think I did.
http://i.imgur.com/IuqEmPhm.jpg http://i.imgur.com/TBxm849m.jpg http://i.imgur.com/YZNDmg3m.jpg
At first, the range manager thought that it was slam fire, and suggested I send it back to Springfield Armory. So I started the return process. As many know, most manufacturers don't warranty reloads. So where they asked about the ammo and lot #, I entered my .45 ACP load recipe from the load book I've been using (9.1 grains of Reloader 5 behind a Nosler 185 CC HP bullet). My gunsmith friend thought it was a double charge and I showed him a pic of the brass:
http://i.imgur.com/8Dns9nBm.jpg
Total double charge. Upon further investigation, this was completely plausible as my case fill was 50% according to the book. I weigh out the remaining rounds, and find one more that was 9.1 grains heaver than normal. Double check the rest again, and all were within the proper weight. Now I just have to wait to find out the prognosis from Springfield Armory.