PDA

View Full Version : Barrel length

porterdavid98
7 February 2018, 11:34
Anybody have an idea how 16 inches became the most common length for AR weapons? Why not 18 inches?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

VIPER 237
7 February 2018, 11:51
It’s the shortest legal length. I think if there was no NFA we would see 11.5 and 14.5 as the norm.

alamo5000
7 February 2018, 12:27
I agree with Viper. It's the law.

I will defer on this point because I have zero military experience but rather add an additional question into the mix... for those that have been in the military isn't a 14.5 the standard issue? Isn't the M4 a standard 14.5 inch length?

I would speculate that 14.5" is probably the best all around length for 5.56 in regards to terminal ballistics, reliability, wear on guns, etc.

How they came up with a random number of 16" is beyond me. That was made by politicians not gun people.

fledge
7 February 2018, 12:30
Politicians had 1934 mob-owned firearms in mind when they wrote the 16” rule.

alamo5000
7 February 2018, 12:31
Politicians has 1934 mob-owned firearms in mind when they wrote the 16” rule.

I had that in mind too. That law definitely pre-dates any M16 or AR platform.

UWone77
7 February 2018, 16:33
Anybody have an idea how 16 inches became the most common length for AR weapons? Why not 18 inches?

Other than the Law/NFA that's been mentioned, I think 18" and above are just a little too long for carbine work.

Former11B
7 February 2018, 17:21
Other than the Law/NFA that's been mentioned, I think 18" and above are just a little too long for carbine work.

Absolutely

I’m probably going to build a 22” AR of some sort in a wildcat (224Valkyrie is what I’m planning thus far) but beyond that, I got rid of my 18” and 24” .223 stuff. 16” rifles with a suppressor is bad enough; my 24” rifle with my direct thread can was insanely quiet but it was ridiculously long.