PDA

View Full Version : I am officially quarantined

rxer311
6 April 2020, 09:24
I am a pharmacist at UPenn LGH. They have been screening us every day on the way in to work for fevers. I haven't had any type of fever but I started with a cough and generalized fatigue on Friday. Probably just a common virus, however, my manager noticed my illness today and I let him know I wasn't feeling well. So he called our hospital infection control officer who then mandated that I get tested.

Unfortunately we are saving all of our rapid tests for patients, so I get to wait 5-7 days for results for which time I am officially quarantined. If I test positive the quarantine goes to 14 days.

Like I said, I probably don't have it. I feel pretty decent besides being sick. But....I am going to be really bored for the next week!

Pic before I got sick!

https://i.imgur.com/qnJ6KKI.jpg

Aragorn
6 April 2020, 09:43
Oh man! Even if you don’t have it, that’s rough!

UWone77
6 April 2020, 10:08
Did you have to wear PPE at work all the time? Any direct contact with patients in your position?

That's rough man. I hope you feel better. Keep yourself safe!

rxer311
6 April 2020, 10:39
We have to wear ppe at all times right now. I do have pt contact but we are limiting it now.

inthegame
6 April 2020, 12:44
While understand the need or want to work. Out of an abundance of caution, you should not have gone into work given your symptoms Friday. Hope it comes back negative for you. Dont be the guy in the zombie show hiding the bite.

gatordev
6 April 2020, 13:14
Sorry to hear that. Hopefully they're taking care of you with the paycheck while you're quarantined. My work is pretty shady on explaining how they determine giving disability vs full pay for exposure when the incubation period is so along. If you do get positive, hope things stay relatively benign, but here's to negative thinking.

rxer311
6 April 2020, 13:24