PDA

View Full Version : Barrel Choice

firedog934
12 October 2007, 19:43
This is my first build and I would like some input on barrels. My build is going to be for HD and the range. Any info on a good choice for a 16". I am leaning toward a Noveske.

slayr15
12 October 2007, 19:55
olympic arms makes a good barrel and will save you some change.

John Hwang
12 October 2007, 21:17
Are you looking to build from scratch? Olympic Arms does have nice barrels. If money isn't a consideration, one of the better barrel choices out there is the Sabre Defence Midlegth Barrel.

Features:

* Mil-B-1159F Vandium Alloy
* Mid Length Gas System
* Gov’t Profile (thin under the hand guards)
* Front end cap / Delta ring assembly included
* 1:7 Twist
* M4 Feed Ramps
* A2 Flash Hider
* Chrome Lined

http://www.rainierarms.com/img/shop/product/ff5d541c037de5155f26147b9cce6aa4.jpg (http://www.rainierarms.com/?page=shop/detail&product_id=829)

Paulinski
13 October 2007, 07:27
First off all sorry to hi-jack

John

I'm interested in finding some information regarding the Rainer Arms Ultra Match Barrels. As I'm thinking about purchasing the 16" version. I understand they are stainless steel but will that be a limiting factor in high round usage?

Also will 1/8 twist stabilize 77 grain projectiles?

Thanks

Paul

Stickman
13 October 2007, 09:27
This is my first build and I would like some input on barrels. My build is going to be for HD and the range. Any info on a good choice for a 16". I am leaning toward a Noveske.

Which Noveske barrel? With the info you have given, I would look at the Noveske basic upper. People are reporting shooting sub-moa groups, and its heavy chrome lining and higher grade steel ensures its will last a long time.

TigerStripe
13 October 2007, 10:46

John