PDA

View Full Version : Howdy, new guy here.

N8dawg16
20 November 2009, 15:44
Hello all,

First off, this is an awesome site, thank you to the Moderators.
The title says quite a bit, I am new to the AR platform. My dept. allows officers to carry privately purchased AR's on patrol. I've been reading and digesting a little ton of information from this site and a few others.

I'm looking to buy my first AR. Like many others I'd like to get a good bang for my bucks and do not think my range master would go for me building my own.

Ok my actual questions:
1. Price range approx $1500.00. I've shopped locally and I think I can do better than $2k for a Colt.
2. I don't think I'll be adding a ton of gear to the gun itself. I'm not on SWAT just patrol. I would likely look at an optical sight in the future but irons would suit me fine andbe a good place to start.
3. Don't personally know how to decide between a 16 " barrel and the 14.5 with fixed suppressor. Is there really that much differance in balance and performance in the 1.5" differance?

Any suggestions? Thanks for your time.

N8dawg16

Quentin
20 November 2009, 16:38
Just curious but wouldn't it be better to let the dept issue you a rifle? And maybe build one for your personal use?

Like has been said before, if you ever have to use it on the job, why let them lock up your personal property during an investigation.

OfcPowder
20 November 2009, 18:44
Just curious but wouldn't it be better to let the dept issue you a rifle? And maybe build one for your personal use?

Like has been said before, if you ever have to use it on the job, why let them lock up your personal property during an investigation.

He is probably on a deptartment like mine, where they don't buy you an AR. They are still issuing the Mini-14, and give us the option to use our own AR15 instead.