PDA

View Full Version : HELP! AR-Build from scratch. Need Suggestions/Thoughts on all Parts selected~

4SRecon
9 December 2009, 18:15
I'm new to WE but I observed that most members are experienced vet's in AR builds/Parts. I'm looking to start the new year with a completely new AR build. I thought of a build consisting of about 15 parts or so to start the initial build. I have no hands on experience with any of these parts with the exception of the optics and gas block. I map'd out the build from Ranier Arms, after purchsing many different parts from a previous build with the best customer support I could imagine except for the Spike's Lower and Aimpoint T-1 / LT mount combo. I would appreciate any feed back on the parts I did/n't list or possible options if possible... Thanks-

1. Spike's Tactical Complete Magpul Edition Lower- 440.00
(wanted the magpul lower or Noveske lower. *complete*)

2. WOA 13.7 Stainless Steel Match Grade Barrel- 295.00
(Does Noveske make these barrels? or the other way around??)

3. VLTOR MUR (Modular Upper Receiver) w/Forward Assist- 229.95

4. VLTOR Gas Block (Black)- 49.95

5. DD 12.0 M4 FF Handguard- 332.00

6. Noveske KX3 Flash Suppressor- 125.00
OR
PWS FSC55- 95.00

7. MI SPLP BUIS- 119.95

8. MI Folding Front Sight- 79.95

9. KNS Takedown pins- 22.00

10. AImpoint T-1 W/ LT Tall Mount Combo- 587.00

11. Pin/Weld Smith Service- 39.95

12. Gas Block Pin Service- 29.95

Paulo_Santos
9 December 2009, 19:24
That is very nice list of parts. The WOA barrel is either a Wilson or Shilan. Very good barrels.
With the 13.7" barrel, I'd get the KX3 instead of the FSC556. Also check out the Troy 12" MRX Standard Handguards.

4SRecon
9 December 2009, 19:49
Thanks for the feedback Paulosantos-

I checked the Troy Industry Handguards out.. They look good, and have a great reputation for durability. I was also wondering if you were fimiliar in th Noveske Switchblock... and is it primarily used for suppressors only? would that be idea for this setup?