PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on a company? Ideas for a 2nd build

chem_guy
16 December 2009, 09:30
Anybody with any experience or thoughts on M&A Parts. My brother worked with a nationally renown SWAT guy who swore by them. I have heard a lot of things - both good and bad - about some of the "other" parts and kits houses, but not so much about M&A Parts.

Operating under the Costaism of "One is none, two is one."

I am working on an extremely low budget for my second build and while I tend to like what I see at Bravo Company, Rainier and Noveske, it would take even longer to budget for a purchase from those companies. I have been budgeting for the last two years...I am getting very antsy.

I have pencil whipped this project to death and I think I need some fresh perspective.

Purpose is two fold - home defense and pleasure shooting with the family (spouse plus the three older kids - we have five:o)

I am open to all suggestions!

chem_guy
21 December 2009, 20:26
Any takers or suggestions?

Paulo_Santos
21 December 2009, 22:33
What do you have so far?

Army Chief
22 December 2009, 05:14
I don't mean to sound trite, but there are only two kinds of ARs in my view: those that are expensive when you buy them, and those that will become expensive after you buy them (and realize all of the things that need to be changed out and/or corrected).

In your stead, I would likely wait until BCM components were within budget; especially since you aren't ruling out a potential defensive application. It makes little sense to me to spend money on something that I am going to regret owning in a year or two, and I am simply not wealthy enough to make mistakes at the time of initial outlay.

To borrow a line from the film Ronin, "When in doubt, there is no doubt."

AC

federalist22
22 December 2009, 07:06