PDA

View Full Version : Barrel advice for next build

HS2
9 February 2010, 12:08
I've been procrastinating on my next build but Stick's preview of the new Mega monolithic upper got me fired up to try it out.

I've completed a CMMG lower with a Timney trigger and an Emod stock.

This will mainly be a bench shooter but I'd like to keep it on a diet. 300 yards is the longest range available at a reasonable driving distance.

I have a 16" middy and a 14.5 KISS so I'm thinking the Mega would be ideal for an 18 or 20" scoped upper.

haven't done a lot of research on barrels so I'd like to get advice / recommendations.

- 18 or 20" Sabre Defense SS fluted (34 - 35.7 oz)
- WOA 18" SS SPR (41 oz)
- BCM 18" SS SPR (?)

Thanks.

ReconRanger
9 February 2010, 12:55
Of those three barrels, I would say the WOA. I have no experience with the Sabre Defense or BCM barrels, but when I was looking for a 18" barrel people told me to steer clear of sabre defense as there are higher quality barrels out there. I ended up having Steve @ ADCO build me a mk 12 mod 1 with a WOA barrel and its a tack driving machine. WOA barrels are very high quality for the price.

Stickman
9 February 2010, 17:43
WOA gives a lot of bang for the buck.

magpul_556
9 February 2010, 18:12
I know its not on you list but i love my 16" Stainless barrel from Noveske. Its the most acurate barrel ive ever shot, but ist gunna run you about $450.

HS2
13 February 2010, 05:05
WOA gives a lot of bang for the buck.

Stick,

What length barrel and gas system is on the rifle in your MTS-300 review? Are there any disadvantages in having the gas block exposed? Seems like that would make assembly easier with this upper.

Lastrites
13 February 2010, 08:28
Another plug for the WOA, owned and shot several others all will shoot an eye out at distance.