PDA

View Full Version : Standard front sight base with scope?

d.hodgee
31 March 2010, 04:43
I am thinking about pulling the pin and buying a BCM midlength upper. I want to run a scope of some sort. Nothing major but, say a lower power Leupold using a Larue Mount.

My question is with the standard F-Marked Forged Front Sight Bases....
(any manufacture not just BCM)

-Will it be awkward looking through the scope with the Front Sight Base sticking up in view? I have no experience with this I have pretty much always had irons only on my builds.

-Would I be better off opting to a low-pro gas block with some flip up sights?

I'm pretty much open to all ideas. Thanks for your time.

If you have any pictures of this exact set up feel free to throw them in~! Sticks gun pictures always seem to motivate!

ColonelColt
31 March 2010, 16:46
This is related to something I was going to post about but if I can get answered here, great. With railed gas blocks - Are they all a standard height or do I need to worry about finding one that matches my folding or fixed clamp on front sight? What about folding front sights built into the gas block? Right now I have a YHM built in folding front sight I like but I've often wondered about using it with different rear sights. A slight variance in height between different manufacturers could throw your elevation pretty far off requiring a lot of adjustment.

m24shooter
31 March 2010, 17:22
You didn't say what power scope you were going to use. Here's how a FSB looks through a 3x EOThingy magnifier. Higher mag powers will have even less of an effect.
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a391/m24shooter/100_1263.jpg

m24shooter
31 March 2010, 17:27
This is related to something I was going to post about but if I can get answered here, great. With railed gas blocks - Are they all a standard height or do I need to worry about finding one that matches my folding or fixed clamp on front sight?