PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on my first AR build

B4RAZ
4 April 2010, 04:53
Hello friends, I am new to WeaponEvolution and thought for my first post Id lay out the details for my first AR build and see what feedback I get. I own 3 AR's already but I have never built my own. I friend of mine who is a very experienced gunsmith will help me with the assembly process. The purpose of this weapon is to be extremely reliable under harsh conditions, hard use, and accurate. The optic is going to be an aimpoint T1, so "accuracy" is relative, it does not need to be a tack driver. Ok so here is what Ive got:
-Spikes Tactical Biohazard reciever
-Spikes Tactical Nickel Boron BCG
-Noveske 14.5 barrel w/mid length gas system
-Still unsure on the rail...opinions please?
-Surefire muzzle brake

Thats the basis of what I want. I am 6'5'' so I would really prefer a 12 or 13'' rail. I like the DD 12.0 lite, I also like the VTAC battle rail and the Troy battle rail. The longer the better. I am open to all opinions and advice. Thank you.

B4RAZ
4 April 2010, 04:55
Oh also, anyone running the KAC URX II? I really like this rail but from what I have read it takes 2 specialty tools to install, both of which are around $250 each!

Rated21R
4 April 2010, 07:51
I was pretty sold on the URX II until I did some asking around and got some second opinions. I suggest you do the same, just so you are 100% sure its the way you want to go.

TehLlama
4 April 2010, 13:43
URXII, LT Rail, DD Lite - all good options.
If you're a fan of the VTAC and TROY rails - the VTAC-TROY Extreme battlerail is your answer - very lightweight, comes with the top rail and a few other peices, and cheap in 11" or 13" flavors. Fits with the lightweight application you have so far (T-1, probably an AFG or stubby VFG). You can run a variety of lights on this too - I'm partial to the X300's at 12:00 for this application, but there's lots of other options to look at too.
PM me if you're curious how that would look.

Stickman