PDA

View Full Version : Militec-1 Lubricant.

Paulo_Santos
19 January 2008, 11:27
I just wanted to share this with you guys. I know there are other good products out there, and I feel you can add this one to the list of good products to use.

I was introduced to Militec-1 last year when my LT at work obtained a couple of sample bottles from a local gun show he went to. (This is the stuff that our Military is using out in Iraq and Afghanistan.). So far, I've been using it for just about 6 months and I am very satisfied with it. I used to use CLP and although it worked good, it just doesn't compare to the Militec-1. I just finished up a 1000 round test in which I shot approximately 1000 rounds without cleaning my AR and I just cleaned it and the carbon wiped right off without any scrubbing like I would have to do with CLP. Even the bolt doesn't get that usual build-up where carbon usually accumulates. Although the initial application process sounds like a pain in the butt, it is pretty easy if you just use a blow-dryer. I did a very good cleaning and then applied some Militec-1 on everything and heated the parts up with a blow-dryer until it got hot. I then wiped it down and I was done. You don't have to leave it real wet like you have to with the CLP. Here is some info directly from the Militec-1 website: (I edited the part about the Additional Application Instructions.).

CHARACTERISTICS: MILITEC-1 Synthetic Metal Conditioner has the unique ability to create a complex, molecular compound within the surface of heated gunmetal. This causes MILITEC-1 to become part of the metal, not merely a temporary coating or a boundary film. There are two main characteristics of this safe new compound. First, it seals and conditions the metal by stiffening (not hardening) the metal surface. Second, it makes the gunmetal self-lubricating under all environmental conditions.