PDA

View Full Version : Help with my project???

The4thHorseman
23 January 2008, 19:17
Ok so here is the mission. To build my last SHTF ultimate zombie-killer without my commander-in-chief finding out!:rolleyes: I envision a VIS middy on a Magpul lower, Magpul 93B stock, Magpul MIAD grip, RRA NM trigger and LPK, BCG by CMT and PRI BUIS. What I am not clear on is how do I go about getting the correct barrel(s). I am thinking a 16 and/or 18 inch, slim profile with a regular A2 FH. I would be using XM193 ammo and want to effectively engage out to 300-350 meters. Somebody please point me in the most cost effective direction! I also have an optics question...my TA31F I assume would be a no go on this build since its calibrated for a 20 inch. What would be a good optic for my project?? Thanks guys and please pardon my ignorance, I am new in the addictive world of building your own! I hope to pick Stickman's and John from Rainier Arm's brains!!!

Paulo_Santos
23 January 2008, 19:34
I was going to say since you want something to reach out to 300-500 meters, and you plan on using XM193 ammo, and an ACOG that is calibrated for a 20" barrel, why not get a 20" government profile barrel with a 1:9" twist?

Exactly which ACOG do you have? Is it the TA31 (which is calibrated for the XM193 from a 20" barrel), or do you have the TA31RCO-A4?

Also, if you are getting the RRA NM trigger, I'd highly recommed spending an extra $20 and get the WOA tuned RRA trigger.

If you are dead set on a 16 or 18" barrel, get a 16" Government profile Midlength barrel from CMMG, RRA, or Saber Defense.

The4thHorseman
23 January 2008, 19:47
I was going to say since you want something to reach out to 300-500 meters, and you plan on using XM193 ammo, and an ACOG that is calibrated for a 20" barrel, why not get a 20" government profile barrel with a 1:9" twist?

Exactly which ACOG do you have? Is it the TA31 (which is calibrated for the XM193 from a 20" barrel), or do you have the TA31RCO-A4?