PDA

View Full Version : Holster search!



willardcw4
15 August 2010, 21:30
I'm looking for an OWB holster to fit my Sig P226 9mm (w/ rail). I have a Streamlight TLR-2 on it. I was looking at Raven cases:

http://www.themalabarfront.com/product_info.php?cPath=82_85_93&products_id=1577

Use will be training (drawing / range). If it can also function as an IWB holster, it's also a plus, but not a necessity.

Any comments on the raven + suggestions? I saw rob_s' post about Peters Custom Holsters but the tac light and weapon are not listed... I could ask for a custom...

Bob Reed
16 August 2010, 05:25
Hello. You might find something that suits you from the list below.

5 shot Leather - http://www.5shotleather.com/
A Holster Company - http://www.lefthandholster.com/
A.E. Nelson - http://nelsonleather.com
AJ Concealco - http://www.concealco.com/miva/merchant.mvc
Aker Leather - http://www.akerleather.com/
Alessi Holsters - http://www.alessigunholsters.com/
Alfonso's Gunleather - http://www.alfonsosgunleather.com/
Andrews Leather - http://www.andrewsleather.com/
B&D Concealment Holsters - http://www.bdconcealmentholsters.com/
Bandera Gunleather - http://www.banderagunleather.com/
Bell Charter Oak Holsters - http://www.bellcharteroakholsters.com/
Bianchi - http://www.bianchi-intl.com/
Black Hills Leather - http://www.bhlstore.com/
Blackhawk - http://www.blackhawk.com
Blade Tech - http://www.blade-tech.com/home.php
Boston Leather - http://www.bostonleather.com/
Brigade Gunleather - http://www.brigadegunleather.com/gunholsters.html
Brommeland Gunleather - http://www.brommelandgunleather.com/
Bulldog Custom Gun Leather - http://www.bulldogleathercompany.com/
Bulman Gun Leather - http://www.bulmangunleather.com/holsters.html
C5 Leather - http://www.c5leather.com/
C Rusty Sherrick Leather Works - http://www.c-rusty.com/
Center of Mass Holsters - http://www.comholsters.com/
Cobra Gunskin - http://www.cobragunskin.us/default.aspx
Combat Gun Leather - http://www.combatgunleather.com/
Comp-Tac - http://www.comp-tac.com/
Coronado Leather - http://coronadoleather.com/
CR Speed - http://www.crspeed.co.za/
Cross Breed Holsters - http://www.crossbreedholsters.com/
D.M. Bullard Leather - http://www.dmbullardleather.com/index.html
De Santis - http://www.desantisholster.com/
Del Fatti - http://www.delfatti.com/
Don Hume - http://www.donhume.com/
Durango Gun Leather - http://www.dgunleather.com/index.htm
Eagle Industries - http://www.eagleindustries.com/index.asp
El Paso Saddlery - http://www.epsaddlery.com/
Fin Designs - http://www.findesigns.net/fin.html
Fist - http://www.fist-inc.com/
Fobus Holsters - http://www.fobusholster.com/
Front Line Ltd. - http://www.front-line.co.il/
Galco - http://www.usgalco.com/
Garrity's GunLeather - http://www.garritysgunleather.com/
G-Code Holsters - http://www.tacticalholsters.com/
Ghost Holster - http://ghostholster.com/
Gould and Goodrich Holsters - http://gouldusa.com/
Gradfather Oak Custom Carry - http://www.grandfatheroak.com./
Grahams Custom Leather - http://www.grahamholsters.com/
Grassburr Leather Works, Inc - http://www.grassburr.com
Gunworks - http://www.gun-works.com/
Haugen Handgun Lather - http://www.haugenhandgunleather.com/
Hazel Leather - http://www.hazelleather.com/
HBE Leatherworks - http://www.hbeleatherworks.com/
High Noon - http://www.highnoonholsters.com/
Hillsman Holster - http://www.hillsmanholster.com/
Hoffners - http://www.hoffners.com/products.htm
Holsterama - http://www.jbpholsters.com/servlet/StoreFront
Horseshoe Leather - http://www.holsters.org/
International Handgun Leather - http://www.ihlusa.com/
JS Holsters - http://www.jsholsters.com
J.W. O'Rourk Leather Products - http://www.gun-holsters.com/
K.L Null Holsters - http://www.klnullholsters.com/
Kirkpatrick Leather - http://www.kirkpatrickleather.com/
Kramer Leather - http://www.kramerleather.com/
Kytac - http://www.kytac.com/
Lightning Arms Sports - http://www.lightningarms.com/products.htm
Little Bear Holsters - http://www.littlebearholsters.com/
Little Feather Leather - http://www.littlefeatherleather.com/
The Malabar Front - http://www.themalabarfront.com/
Master of Concealment - http://masterofconcealment.com/index.php
Mernickle Holsters - http://www.mernickleholsters.com/
Milt Sparks - http://www.miltsparks.com/
Mitch Rosen - http://www.mitchrosen.com/
Monica Kuehn Leather - http://www.monicakuehnleather.blogspot.com/
Mountain Home Leather - http://www.mountainhomeleather.com/
Nosser GunLeather - http://www.nossargunleather.com/
Nevada Gun leather - http://www.nevadagunleather.com/
Nick Matthews Holsters - http://www.nm-holsters.com/
Pacific Canvas & Leather - http://www.pacificcanvasandleather.com/
PagerPal - http://www.pagerpal.com/
Peters Custom Holsters - http://www.shop.peterscustomholsters.com/main.sc
Pistol Packaging, Inc - http://www.pistolpackaging.com/
Pocket Concealment Systems - http://pcsholsters.com/main.html
Pro Carry Holsters - http://www.theholsterstore.com/servlet/StoreFront
Pure Kustom Holsters - http://www.purekustomholsters.com/
PWL USA - http://www.pwlusa.com/
Python Holsters - http://pythonholsters.com/
Rafter S Gunleather - http://www.raftersgunleather.com/
Raven Concealment - http://www.ravenconcealment.com/
Ray's Holsters - http://www.shado.com/
Rick Waltner Holsters - http://www.rickwaltnerholsters.com/
RKBA Holsters - http://www.rkbaholsters.com/
RF Holsters - http://www.rfholsters.com/rfholsters/default.asp?
RM Holsters - http://www.rmholsters.com/
Ross Leather - http://www.rossleather.com/
Ryan Grizzle Leather - http://www.rgrizzleleather.com/
Safariland - http://www.safariland.com/index2.aspx
Sickinger - http://www.sickinger.at/
Side Armor - http://www.sidearmor.com
Side Guard - http://www.sideguardholsters.com/index.html
Simply Rugged Holsters - http://www.simplyrugged.com/
SmartCarry - http://www.smartcarry.com/
Southern Holsters - http://southernholsters.com/
Strong Holsters - http://www.strongholster.com/
Sunrise Leather - http://www.sunriseleather.com/
Survival Sheath Systems - http://www.survivalsheath.com/holsters/index.htm
TacPro (Kydex) - http://www.tacpro.com/
Tagua GunLeather - http://www.taguagunleather.com/
Talon Tactical (Kydex) - http://www.talontactical.com/
Tauris Holsters - http://www.taurisholsters.com/index.cfm
Tennessee Holster Company - http://www.tennesseeholstercompany.com/
TSC Holsters - http://www.threatsolutions.com/IWBindex.html
TT Gunleather - http://www.ttgunleather.com/
Tucker Gun Leather - http://rlcompanyusa.stores.yahoo.net/
Tuff Products - http://www.tuffproducts.com/home.php
UBG Holsters - http://www.ubgholsters.com/index.html
Uncle Mikes - http://www.uncle-mikes.com/
Vega holsters - http://www.vegaholster.com/
Wild Bills - http://www.wildbillsconcealment.com/

2ATA
16 August 2010, 07:58
I would highly recommend the Raven option. I use Raven for all of my carry, practice, training use. I typically carry with light mounted and often cahnge between IWB and OWB. They are the thinest most easy to conceal kydex on the market. There is a reason that guys like Vickers, Hackathorn, Costa, Haley, and Fisher use this gear. The CS is also great, if you have any concerns or issues call them and talk to Jay or Tom.

Raven = GTG

*I do not work for or represent Raven in any manner, merely a very satisfied end user.

2ATA
16 August 2010, 08:01
I have also heard good things about this company: http://ntacholsters.com/store/Default.asp

Design seems similar to Raven, much shorter wait time. I do not have any first hand experience with them at this time. I did however just place an order with them this weekend to evaluate.

willardcw4
16 August 2010, 10:01
From what I've been reading the Raven is probably one of the better options. I was looking at Safariland and Blade Tech (http://www.blade-tech.com/Holsters-w-Tactical-Light-c-280.html). Unfortunately, Ntach doesn't offer the weapon/light combo I need...

What seems unique about the Raven is that it functions as a superb OWB AND IWB holster, which really provides a lot more flexability. Blade Tech holsters seem pretty similar to the Raven holsters with a slightly shorter wait time.

Optimus Prime
16 August 2010, 10:25
Here's my review of my Raven Phantom holster for my SigPro 2022 with a TLR-1. (http://gunscoffee.blogspot.com/2010/05/kydex-part-iv.html)

The wait time is the killer with the Raven Concealment goods.

willardcw4
16 August 2010, 10:36
Here's my review of my Raven Phantom holster for my SigPro 2022 with a TLR-1. (http://gunscoffee.blogspot.com/2010/05/kydex-part-iv.html)

The wait time is the killer with the Raven Concealment goods.

That was really helpful. Considering the fact that I'm running a light 24/7 with this pistol, I think Raven is the most likely candidate. The only thing I have to decide is what additions I'd like for mounting options (I might get the c-clips for IWB)...

Thanks for the link!

willardcw4
16 August 2010, 10:38
I think the Over Hooks http://www.themalabarfront.com/product_info.php?products_id=1418 offer a decent and quick IWB solution... the only thing I'm worried about is the weight of the weapon + light not being distributed evenly enough and sag my pants.

Optimus Prime
16 August 2010, 19:36
Like I said in my review, I'm in Wisconsin, so I haven't really looked into their IWB options. But I do strongly agree that a white light is a must on a defensive gun.

2ATA
17 August 2010, 07:11
I think the Over Hooks http://www.themalabarfront.com/product_info.php?products_id=1418 offer a decent and quick IWB solution... the only thing I'm worried about is the weight of the weapon + light not being distributed evenly enough and sag my pants.

As long as you are using an appropriate belt, it should be fine. I use the over hooks, and I carry a full size steel 1911 with a TLR-1 mounted just fine.

Sak007
15 September 2010, 21:19
I'm waiting on my raven concealment for my 229 with a surefire x300 .

montgomerygentryFan
18 September 2010, 11:44
As previously mentioned Raven are exceptional holster, but there is a wait. Also consider Safariland ALS holsters, they're really high-quality too. Since G-Code no longer is sending orders to its distributors if you're really into a kydex holster and can't wait for Raven (or have no luck finding a used one) that's another option for you.

Wondering Beard
18 September 2010, 12:02
With quality makers of the custom or semi custom variety, you will have to wait, no matter what you are asking for.

Quality has a price; when it comes to holsters that price often is time.

It's a price I've gladly paid for at least twenty years and will continue to pay for as long as the quality keeps coming.

tac40
19 September 2010, 09:48
Nice list Bob, I think theres more then 1 company on the list who has my money.