PDA

View Full Version : Laser Engrave after Gun Kote

EODcrawler
29 September 2010, 03:23
Hey guys,

I'm new to building ARs and had a question. I plan on getting my lower coated in FDE Gun Kote from Rainier when I get it but will I be able to get a design laser engraved on the mag well after it's coated? Also, will I have to get it engraved with all of the SBR markings before it's coated. I've tried to find an answer on the internet with no luck.

Stickman
29 September 2010, 08:54
You should be able to get it engraved after the coating, but I believe it has to be a certain depth according to BATF, so make sure your engraver knows. It takes awhile to send in the paperwork, so you can get it engraved while you are waiting for it to return.

Quick coated VIS picture.....

http://stickman.rainierarms.com/galleries/Magpul%20V/868W1095-1024-Stick.jpg

todd.k
29 September 2010, 09:13
I'd get it engraved first, it will look better with paint over the engraving.

EODcrawler
29 September 2010, 09:25
I'm tracking to get the SBR engravings first, but also the pic on the mag well? I know it would be easier to get them done at the same time but I want the pic to stand out. I'm going to try and get the SBR engraving done on the bottom of the trigger guard (billet lower) and would like for that to be covered by the coating. Will normal laser engravings go just as deep as ones needed for SBR requirements? Just curious. This will be my first build and I want it done right the first time. I hate having to get things redone because it was messed up from the beginning. If it can't happen the way I want, then it can't happen. Just trying to get as much info as I can before I start with anything.

Stickman
29 September 2010, 11:41
I'd get it engraved first, it will look better with paint over the engraving.

Will laser engraving burn deep enough to coat over the top? Or is regular engraving a better option?

EODcrawler
29 September 2010, 11:50