PDA

View Full Version : Surefire X400 / Streamlight TLR-2 Design Summary

goteron
25 November 2010, 11:15
Let me preface this with a few words. I am not HSLD, and I do not work for any firearm company or publication. I am not associated with any whatsoever. I am also not an engineer, but fairly electro-mechanically inclined. I am also not a writer.

This is completely un-biased review of two lights. I have used both the Streamlight TLR-2 and Surefire x400 for a while. Of the samples I have (6 TLR-1s, 3 TLR-2s, 1 TLR-3 and 2 X400s. None of them have ever quit on me for any reason. I tend to use them fairly hard and don’t pamper them at all.

I do have this problem… if I get intrigued enough to know how something operates, I will take it apart, no exceptions; I cannot go on without knowing.

This review will be conducted slightly different from most reviews; it is strictly a design / build quality review focused on those elements alone. There are some comments at the end about actual use, but I do not have enough hours on the lights in harsh environments to write an educated review. I’ll leave that to the professionals. Also absent from this review will be cosmetic notes. I don’t care about how crisp the laser engraving is or if the anodizing matches the finish on my gun.

I have taken both lights apart to their individual components, to the point of (probably) destroying my X400. I have literally had them both stripped down to the smallest component level possible with the tools available.

Build Quality / Design

Surefire X400

The Surefire X400 has a quality LED and Laser Diode. The circuit boards are also well designed and manufactured. Solder work has been high quality at all solder points. I tested several solder points by pulling the wires from different angles. In all cases, the wires broke before the solder points. Keep in mind this is a sample set of one.