PDA

View Full Version : New to building and very large ideas.

Citizen
29 November 2010, 09:36
Hi all,

I am new to build AR's. I have been reading as much as possible so that I am educated. It seems to me that it isn't that difficult to really build one. It seems that if you know what parts you need and how to put it all together (and also some minor mechanical knowledge) that anyone can do it, please correct me if I am wrong.

I plan on buying a stripped lower receiver and the buying a parts kit. I will be getting my own Magpul stock and grip. Then I will buy an upper receiver, bolt carrier and charging handle. Now for the barrel I have some questions.

I would like to do a setup I have seen in the past: Longer Rail system than barrel and flash hider is the only part actually visible of the barrel. Now the two options I am looking at is a 13"5 rail on a 11.5" barrel or a 13.5" rail on a 14.5" barrel. Preferably the fist option. I like the Noveske KX3 idea with this as well. So it looks like if I were to go through with this setup I would need Barrel, rail, low profile gas block, flash hider, and parts kit for the barrel.

Now what am I forgetting or not thinking of here? What problems (if any) can I run into while doing this?

Thanks in advance.

AR-10
29 November 2010, 10:05
I have recently discovered that more "real estate" on the handguard is always a good thing.

I put a 7" on my carbine and after mounting everything up there just isn't a lot of room left.

Just so you know, Rainier Arms sells a 14" DD Lite that I think is made exclusively for them.

Here it is:

http://www.rainierarms.com/?page=shop/detail&product_id=1076

If you scroll down there's a pic of one around a 14.5" barrel.

Citizen
29 November 2010, 10:36
Also the other option I have been looking at is a 14.5" barrel with a 14" Rail. So that DD Lite is a very viable option.

Hmac
29 November 2010, 13:04