PDA

View Full Version : Question about aimpoint and co-witness

Creeky73
12 December 2010, 10:58
two part question here. First is about the Aimpoint ML2. I know that the M3 and M4 series are supposed to be very rugged units, can I assume the same toughness from the M2's?

so after I decide which aimpoint to use, I have to decide what co-witness setup to use. I have narrowed it down to using a Bobro mount, obviously either the 150 or the 180, with the 180 being the lower third setup. Just so I understand correctly, in a true co-witness setup, you see the red dot in line with your iron sights, but where exactly is the dot? does it sit on the tip of the front sight if you are lined up perfectly, or just above it? Or can you set it up to your preference? Also, once you have the red dot set up properly, can you use it to fine tune the iron sights?

I know these are probably dumb questions but I have never used a red dot before and I would love to know what to expect. I am leaning towards the lower third setup as it would probably provide a better field of view, but I do like the idea of a true co-witness for some reason. Front sight is standard fixed, and the rear is a folding unit, if this should make any difference in my decision. As always, I appreciate any help you guys can provide. [:)]

Paulo_Santos
12 December 2010, 11:03
The ML2 is just as tough as the others. The main difference is the battery life. In a true co-witness the dot will sit right on top of the front sight post. As far as which one you should get, it is ip to you. Check out this thread:

http://www.weaponevolution.com/forum/showthread.php?2497-UNDERSTANDING-CO-WITNESS

Quib
12 December 2010, 11:20
Also, once you have the red dot set up properly, can you use it to fine tune the iron sights?

The opposite seems to be the standard- Zero irons, adjust red dot to irons for rough zero. I've used this procedure with good results.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4125/5067731749_b36da21e48_b.jpg