PDA

View Full Version : Optics education please

CLBME
15 February 2011, 16:29
Good evening,

I'm beginning the process of evaluating/understanding optic options and the pros and cons of each but I'm looking for some advice from all of you to add to what I've read. I have no experience with optics other than a scope on a deer rifle many years ago. I'm not military or LE. I'm a recreational shooter shooting a Stag Arms carbine. I currently use iron sights and always have from my first days with my Winchester .22. I enjoy and aspire to shooting at "closer" distances on multiple targets much as I do when pistol shooting in an IDPA style to help my brother practice for matches. However, my eyesight isn't what it used to be which is why I'm considering an optic.

There seem to be many choices but I've only been considering two: Aimpoint and Eotech. I have shot a friends Eotech only a few times but have no Aimpoint experience. I am looking at the smaller Eotech XPS models with the transverse battery.

My questions:

1. Should I be looking at other manufacturer's models that would suit my purposes just as well? if so what would you recommend?

2. Outside of the battery life of the Aimpoint as a huge plus in some people's view is this a "Ford v. Chevy" type debate? Or are there real benefits in favor of one over the other? (It's so hard to tell from the posts I've read.) Some Eotech users point to its ability to quickly get on target. The Eotech's low profile appeals to me aesthetically but I don't know if that translates into real benefits or not and its short footprint appeals to me on the shorter carbine rail.

Thanks in advance,

Christian.

Hmac
15 February 2011, 18:15