PDA

View Full Version : Help with AR-15 Upper Build

VictorMikeLima
25 September 2011, 11:39
Hello, to the community of the weaponevolution's forums!

I'm in need of assistance on building a complete AR-15 upper.

A short introduction, I am a beginner with firearms. Though I've been around the idea of picking up a rifle/pistol for years, and now that I'm able to finance this hobby/lifestyle I'm trying to cram as much knowledge as I can within two weeks (one week now) before I head to a gun show and try to pick out some specific parts and get some deals, if I'm lucky. My knowledge of firearms relies solely on what I'm able to gather on the internet, via forums, articles, etc., so I'm not very knowledgeable on quality of certain items, rather than what is highly spoken of. (Most of the information I've gained this past week has been information from years ago, and it seems that information has changed. Such as the types of metal being used. I haven't seen a mention of 4140 or 4150 while shopping for barrels yet. At least I believe that's the type of "carbon steel" that they used in barrels?)

So I'm trying to slowly and progressively build my own AR, piece by piece, starting with what consists in the rifles upper.

If I'm correct, the upper consists of the following parts:

- Upper Receiver
- Bolt Carrier Group
- Charging Handle
- Barrel
- Gas Block
- Gas Tube
- Flash Hider/Compensator
- Delta ring
- Barrel Nut
- Hand guard/Rail system

Everything above has been what I have been paying attention to in purchasing. I'm not very sure if there's a higher quality gas tube, or not. And would the Delta ring and Barrel Nut be purchased together? Like the Bolt Carrier Group?