PDA

View Full Version : Engraving?

tnronin
8 November 2011, 17:22
Not a long time poster and I'm a major novice on the SBR stuff. I recently received my tax stamp for my AR. I didn't engrave it or anything. I can't remember the form number, but why engrave when you can just use the correct form? Sorry this is brief, I'm on my tablet.

Mitch

Sent from my NookColor using Tapatalk

Hatter
9 November 2011, 05:26
I assume when you say "correct form" you are referring to either a Form 1 or Form 4...

All SBR's need to be engraved regardless of which form is used. If you are building the SBR (assembling the upper and lower once the short barrel is installed) you'll need to fill out a Form 1 - The application to make and register a firearm and the weapon must be engraved with your information (Name/LLC Name, Location). If you purchased the SBR as a complete weapon, from Noveske for example, you'll need to fill out a Form 4 - Application for Tax Paid Transfer and Registration. This weapon will be engraved by Noveske to meet the requirements.

A good search here will show a lot of threads on engraving...

tnronin
9 November 2011, 16:17
Hatter that is what I don't get. I have the paperwork in and back from the ATF. I did not engrave anything. We gave them the info for the ar15 only. Please don't call BS on me. I can take pics, I'm not a mall ninja, and I'm not trolling. The shop I deal with does these rifles all the time. I guess I need to dig the paperwork out of the pistol grip. I'm nothing special and I don't get why people don't just do what I've done.

tnronin
9 November 2011, 16:23
Ok pulled the paperwork. I used a form 1 and listed my rifle as a collectors item. Application made by individual. Like I said our shop doest this all the time.

Hatter
9 November 2011, 19:21
HI'm nothing special and I don't get why people don't just do what I've done.