PDA

View Full Version : torn between two rails and uppers

bomberman85
12 April 2008, 10:34
hey guys i am relatively new to guns altogether, and i just bought my first AR a few weeks ago. i have been doing alot of research on different parts to upgrade, but i cant decide on the fore-end i want for my carbine. either the vltor CASV-EL , or the Daniel defense omega. also, i have been debating over spending over $200 on a vltor MUR or just some generic one, like CMT Stag or similar.

Stickman
12 April 2008, 10:46
Regarding the rails, do you want a riser or not? What optic are you planning on using? They are both very good rails, but serve two different purposes.

With the upper, I will point out that I am not a big believer in slathering the angle of "increased accuracy" from a billet upper. The main point to me in a billet upper is in its reinforcements, which are something that the huge majority of people will never need. Secondly, they look great, and since looks are subjective, and don't put rounds on target I would consider it an option if I had the extra funds and wanted something different. If an upper is in spec, its in spec and the accuracy touting means nothing. If the upper isn't in spec, its not a fair compassion anyway as you are comparing something to a defective item.

BRD Jerm
12 April 2008, 10:47
i cant speak on the VLTOR,but the Omega is excellent.

lightweight(thought they had forgot to put it in the box)
free float
easy install
solid/strong

...seems to have a slimmer profile than most(although my experience with others is limited).

i love mine,and i wouldnt hesitate to get another.

bomberman85
12 April 2008, 21:23
Regarding the rails, do you want a riser or not? What optic are you planning on using? They are both very good rails, but serve two different purposes.