PDA

View Full Version : A Sight Availability Question

lamarbrog
25 March 2012, 21:23
Yesterday, I purchased my first Glock. It's a Model 19, the Compact 9mm. 15+1 capacity. This one is generation 3, and from what I understand was "new" about two years ago.

Today, I shot it for the first time. Now, I have shot Glock pistols a bit in the past, mainly just to try out other folks' pistols after they insist I do. I have shot them a handful of other times just to gain familiarity with a common pistol. I guess there's something different about it being your own, though. Let's just say "Glock Perfection" now has more significance to me than just a marketing phrase.

I shot faster and more accurately with this Glock 19 the first time out than I do with the Beretta 92FS that I've been shooting for three years. I really think it is the sights. The bracket rear and the dot front just really work for me. However, I hear the factory plastic sights are on the fragile side, and they are not night sights which I prefer.

Does anyone make a steel night sight for the Glock that retains the same configuration instead of going to a three or two dot system? I'd be okay with a three or two dot night sight system, if it had the bracket and dot during day use. I really don't want to go to a three dot system at all times, since I do attribute my better shooting to the sights.

Is there a product out there for me?

jhjfdf
26 March 2012, 00:36
Buy the Glock Tritium Night Sigths and paint the bracket rear on it, is that a option for you?
Or the original Glock phosphorescent sights?
https://encrypted-tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTiImvJemnfz0uvvQj5bAGCZ10eIZUzs sbPpEUDO9tf1lX9dITIjA

A friend of mine uses the original Glock tritium front sight and a phosphorescent rear where he drilled some holes and glued some blue tritium containers(one cost ~15 Euro) in it.

lamarbrog
26 March 2012, 09:11
Buy the Glock Tritium Night Sigths and paint the bracket rear on it, is that a option for you?