PDA

View Full Version : Aimpoint Pro levels

CLBME
8 May 2012, 17:32
Good evening,

I have a question regarding my Aimpoint Pro. It's my first so I have no other experience with them but I've always wondered since buying it over a year ago if mine functions properly and if so why they are made this way. It's a great sight for me and I have no complaints but I'm curious and I've never asked anyone...........[:)]

I realize that the first four settings on the AP are for night vision and therefore I wouldn't see them (assuming so as I've never used NV either). However, the 5th level is so dull even on a white wall that I've never used it, even the 6th level isn't very bright. Even inside while dry firing against a wall I still leave it on level 7 or 6 if I'm practicing trigger control close to a wall. On level 8 I begin to see a red ring around the outside of the tube and the highest level washes the view out in a red light when used inside. When I shoot outside in the direct sunlight the dot loses much of its brightness so I usually use it on max. A couple of weeks ago I was shooting with my brother and it was virtually impossible to see the dot at the highest setting. (I did change out the battery after a year though and did find the highest two levels to be clearly brighter especially max.)

So I have two questions:

1. Are the brightness levels in the conditions I described normal? I assume they are, but what are the low-brightness dot levels used for? I'm assuming for low light shooting? They just seem so low, but I've never used it in low light so I don't know. And does the dot lose much of its brightness in full sunlight? I really only use two levels (sometimes three)- highest shooting outside and level 6/7 for dry-firing inside. Is this what most people do?