PDA

View Full Version : AR malfunctioning

masshole42
13 September 2012, 16:28
Hello. I am new to this forum and am not sure if there is another post regarding a similar issue so my apologies if its redundant. Anyways I have a Bushmaster XM-15 that is having issues with fte and ftf. I never had problems before. Anyways I bought some Federal XM855 and M193 to shoot. I went through 4 mags(only 40 rounds since I live in MA) with no issues. Each round went bang and the bolt locked back on last round. My brother then loaded the rifle, fired the first round, then said it jammed. It was a fte. I proceeded to clear the malfunction and fire the next round. Another fte. Cleared that malfunction and then after that it was nothing but trouble. The malfunctions consisted of fte where the case would not fully eject and the bolt would jam halfway closed. The other malfunction was ftf where the case would eject but the bolt would close on an empty chamber. I tried cleaning and lubing the BCG and bolt with no effect. I am stumped. I'm familiar with the basics on my rifle, but in no way I am expert. The only modification I've done is a BCM extractor spring upgrade. Other than that everything I put on is purely cosmetic. It's a 16 in. barrel with carbine gas system. Stock buffer spring with a rifle buffer(came with rifle buffer, but I did purchase a carbine buffer). Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

5pins
13 September 2012, 16:38
It sounds like its short stroking. The first thing I would check would be the gas key and make sure its not loose.

masshole42
13 September 2012, 17:18