PDA

View Full Version : Why a two-stage trigger?

DonovanM
8 January 2013, 17:47
Is there any reason one would choose a two-stage trigger over a single-stage, beyond that of personal preference?

It seems most "combat/tactical" oriented triggers are two-stage, and the more competition oriented variants are single stage in the case of offerings from Geissele for instance.

Pardon my ignorance, I am very new to rifles. Thanks.

csmith
8 January 2013, 18:04
Think of a two stage trigger like a trigger safety of sorts. It has a bit of slack to take up before the pull will trip the hammer. A single stage trigger is more like the 2 lb. triggers people put into precision rifles, no slack just "bang".

That isn't a perfect description but it's ballpark. As for which to go with, stick with what comes in the LPK and learn the system. If you aren't running a precision gasser the GI trigger will work just fine.

FortTom
8 January 2013, 18:13
Just one thing to add, but in the same vein. Combat triggers on an M4 are burst, or in otherwords "auto" mode, when the selector is set for it. It would be very difficult to use a light weight single stage trigger, in auto mode, without a whole bunch of unintentional or AD (accidental discarges).

FT

DonovanM
8 January 2013, 18:35
Think of a two stage trigger like a trigger safety of sorts. It has a bit of slack to take up before the pull will trip the hammer. A single stage trigger is more like the 2 lb. triggers people put into precision rifles, no slack just "bang".

That isn't a perfect description but it's ballpark. As for which to go with, stick with what comes in the LPK and learn the system. If you aren't running a precision gasser the GI trigger will work just fine.