PDA

View Full Version : New member and owner

cyp
13 February 2013, 12:04
Hi all,

Just stopping in to say hello. I have been reading and creepin' for a little while now and thought I would pony up and join. I am new to the AR world, and the rifle community for that matter as well. Have been shootin' pistols and shotguns for awhile and decided I wanted to get into the AR side of things in November of last year. I bought my first AR early December, have yet to shoot it but another forum I am on is having its annual range day down here in NC later this month.

My weapon of choice was a "budget AR", I picked up a CORE 15 Scout model, which is a version of their base M4 without a chrome lined barrel. 16" 1:7 twist chambered in 5.56. It pretty much came bone stock, flat top upper and your standard front sight/gas block with no rear sights.

Right now I have an NC STAR P4 Sniper scope mounted, I know its not top notch but it was given to me as a gift and it works for now. I'm sure I will upgrade later down the road as I plan to add a red dot optic.

Still playing around with different ideas of where I want to go with this rifle, it will mainly be a range gun but I plan on taking some carbine classes in the future once funds start to build up. We have a local guy who does some great stuff, building a large range near by and teaches some great intermediate to advanced classes.

Just realized I'm rambling on so I'll cut that out and leave you guys with a picture. Looking forward to the conversations and learning from you guys as well. Thanks again!!

CP

http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee424/imthinkinrbs/77DC9A2D-909A-4809-B403-AB5C5C9D3C51-4833-0000034F5A4E896D_zps18ee8c8d.jpg

Edited for feets!

Vern1968
13 February 2013, 16:33
Nice looking stuff. I can tell you how much information I've learned off this site. Claasy, knowledgeable people in here.

csmith
13 February 2013, 17:10
Toes. [BD]