PDA

View Full Version : Barrel question please

CLBME
15 February 2013, 11:13
Good afternoon- I am working on my first build and would like to know the pros and cons of a stainless barrel. I'm going to buy a 16" mid-length barrel. I'm looking at the BCM/DD hammer forged barrels and have seen several stainless barrels as well, most notably on Rainier's site and have seen a Lothar Walther one as well. Is there a reason I would want to use a stainless barrel? Are there drawbacks? I have searched but not found an answer.

Thanks,

Christian

MoxyDave
15 February 2013, 13:05
Disclaimer: I have no real-world experience in the matter but I've done a lot of reading on the subject. YMMV.

That said, stainless barrels can be highly accurate. The chrome lining in most AR barrels can sometimes vary in thickness and density, causing slight irregularities in the bore and affect accuracy. However, stainless barrels require more care than your typical mil-spec barrel, and they might not last as long.

I personally believe that unless you're a match-accuracy shooter, you wouldn't notice any difference by using a stainless barrel. They do look wicked cool though!

CLBME
15 February 2013, 14:22
Hi MoxyDave- Thank you for the answer. Is stainless then geared toward accuracy? Is that's its designed purpose? I do agree they look good!

UWone77
15 February 2013, 17:48
What is the intended role of this barrel? If it's general all around use, I think a good CL barrel is what you want to use. BCM/DD CHF barrels that you mentioned are some of the best. With the right ammo and shooter, you can get good accuracy out of them. The stainless barrels I own tend to be more accurate but if you're going to mainly bench rest shoot, you may consider a stainless. They don't typically last as long as CL barrels. With that said, I have yet to shoot out a stainless barrel, simply because match ammo is a lot more expensive.

In the end, it's all pointless as we all know you'll eventually get both. ;)

CLBME