PDA

View Full Version : Social Experiment: What is an Assault Weapon?

zero7one
28 February 2013, 09:06
I was at the grocery store this morning and as I was checking out, with gun magazine included, I was asked by my regular check-out-lady what my opinion was on "the whole gun control thing". Bear in mind that this particular lady knows that I am a cop and she is truly a sweet older lady.

I informed her of my opinion and asked her of hers. She said that she fully supports guns and gun ownership, but she agreed that "Assault Weapons" should be banned. I asked her what she defined an "Assault Weapon" as. Her reply was; "An AK-47". I went on to educate her on what a true "Assault Weapon" was and that an AK-47 alone was not one, since there were many different variations to include semi-automatic versions that were no more dangerous than a hunting rifle. She seemed shocked when I was informing her of this and not realizing that she had been misinformed. Of course the only gun related information that she, as a normal law-abiding sheep-like citizen, receives is from the news. We all know that the media is not always our best friend, has their own political agenda, and will skew the news to their liking.

Here is my request in the form of a social experiment:

In the course of a normal conversation with someone (stranger or not) bring up gun control, try to get what their take on it is, and ask them what their definition of an "Assault Weapon" is. If you would like to kindly educate them, do so, but do it in a professional manner. Sometimes a persons knowledge, or lack of knowledge, is just plain ignorance, not stupidity. If you can have a short conversation with just one person and have them be educated for just on gun related term, we are doing our nation a service in the right direction.

After you have this conversation, come back here and post your findings. I'm interested in seeing what the general consensus of non-gun people will be.

Jerry R