PDA

View Full Version : help me decide the barrel for proper balance

StrykeBack
15 May 2013, 20:28
Hi this is my first build and have a mega forged upper lower with magpul STR stock and my Noveske 15" NSR rail just arrived.

I'm trying to decide on a fairly accurate barrel that was supposed to be an ultra light build that has slowly grown in weight.
Planned on a Daniel defense lightweight 16 pencil barrel but some have warned that it heats up and becomes innacurate really fast? Upon reseaching I've found a medium contour from centurion arms and noveskes N4 lightweight that while heavier, it atleast keeps the weight closer to the body.

Is this carbine going to be very front heavy or what would you recommend?
Its going to be my first build and first AR that I would eventually like to take some carbine courses with it.

UWone77
16 May 2013, 07:06
Personally, I don't like lightweight barrels, but unless you have a happy trigger, I doubt you'll notice a difference. If you're concerned about weight, I really like the skinny barrel from Noveske. They are still .750 at the gas block, but shaved some material to save weight, a good compromise in my opinion. Rainier Arms also has some medium contour barrels with their Select line.

Hmac
16 May 2013, 07:37
My solution to balance problems wasn't to compromise on barrel profile, I ended up swtching to an 11.5 inch SBR with a Noveske NSR rail on it. That makes an amazing difference in handling.

StrykeBack
16 May 2013, 10:24
As much as Id love an SBR, Im in California where the are illegal. I'm trying to convince my wife to move to Texas. Even AR pistols are illegal unless you go thru an 80 percent lower or single shot exemption it.

Probably gonna go with the Noveske lightweight N4 if I can find one.

rob_s
17 May 2013, 03:27
I've shot the hell out of light barrels almost exclusively. I've never missed a shot or lost a match or a drill that I can attribute to the barrel profile.