PDA

View Full Version : Concealed Body Armor Recommendations

JPLMedic
23 December 2013, 19:04
I am a paramedic in a large city. In light of recent events (take your pick, Active shooter, violence against providers etc.) I have decided to make an investment in a concealable armor vest.

I know that more than a few of you on here are LEO and have extensive experience with vests. You know what works and what doesn't, what is comfortable and what isn't.

What I want: Level IIIa.
Conceal-ability. I am 5'8" 165#
A brand I can trust. I have no desire to save a few dollars if it means sacrificing protection.

Really I am looking for your recommendations on brands, as well as any other pertinent advice you would care to share.

Does anyone know anything about TurtleSkin? http://www.turtleskin.com/Body-Armor/Body-Armor-Ballistics-Protection.aspx

I did some searching and found my exact question...with no real answers.

http://www.weaponevolution.com/forum/showthread.php?4821-Concealed-Ballistic-Vest&highlight=armor

ZKK
24 December 2013, 01:59
not here but info of value, http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=498169
galls is cheap, fast shipping and has a lot to choose from. I always got mine there but my work paid for it.

I've worn armor at work for over ten years, it sucks, hot, bulky hard to move. You sound as if you have a medium frame, should be an easy fit but there are a lot of variables like how wide you are, how tall your torso is. Size and fit are very important. Most reputable vendors will have no problem with quick returns if you have sizing issues and don't wear the vest.

voodoo_man
24 December 2013, 16:46
Do you want BALCS or just a hard-plate style setup, which doesn't give you wrap around protection?

I can say that I have a First-Spear "The Slick" carrier and a pair of USPalm plate backers (that are IIIa rated), those plus the slick carrier = nearly invisible under your shirt.

JPLMedic
24 December 2013, 19:24