PDA

View Full Version : One More Light Question?

FortTom
16 January 2014, 17:28
I'm sorry to flood this thread with questions, but I ordered a light from Optics Planet's website, and I might have made a "tactical" (literally) error.
I ordered an Inforce 200 Lumen light with a Momentary On Only switch, which I understand to mean that it is only lit while depressing the switch.
Is this a desirable attribute, or should I have ordered a light with an On/Off switch. I'm speaking from a tactical/practical standpoint.
Please understand that I've never had a need for a weapon light, and this is my first time out with one, which will only be attached when the weapon is stored ready for home defense. (I won't wear it to the range).

Please know that your expertise and answers will be greatly appreciated. I hope I didn't screw up.

Thanks ahead,
FT

browcs
16 January 2014, 17:53
FT, from a practical standpoint, mission needs should dictate whether you need momentary on or constant on (one with an "on-off" switch). That said, one common problem with some folks using weapon lights is turning it on and keeping it on forever and a day. I use momentary on all of the time. Time/expenses permitting, I encourage you to take a quality class with low-light shooting. They'll square you away in use/deployment of a weapon light.

Keep the questions coming, sir....no need to apologize!

FortTom
16 January 2014, 18:06
FT, from a practical standpoint, mission needs should dictate whether you need momentary on or constant on (one with an "on-off" switch). That said, one common problem with some folks using weapon lights is turning it on and keeping it on forever and a day. I use momentary on all of the time. Time/expenses permitting, I encourage you to take a quality class with low-light shooting. They'll square you away in use/deployment of a weapon light.

Keep the questions coming, sir....no need to apologize!