PDA

View Full Version : Greetings

Thompson
25 January 2014, 10:14
Hello all. I am new to this forum; been lurking in the shadows here and there. I found my way to this site via Stickman's contest.

Figured I'd just do a little intro about myself.

I am currently a freshman in college, at Penn State w/ US Army ROTC. I am planning on getting a degree in mechanical engineering. (After the Army, I would like to move into the firearms industry to do something along the lines of product development/testing.)

I guess something unique about myself, is that I honestly didn't develop a particular passion for firearms until December of 2012 ... in other words the Newtown shooting. Now that I actually think of it, I still remember ,at the end of the day, my physics teacher telling us about a shooting that occurred. To be honest, I didn't really think much of it at the time. I can't quite remember how it happened, but eventually I found my way onto YouTube looking at videos of firearms (you know, you start on youtube on one thing, and you end up completely somewhere else ... I think that's how it happened). Eventually I got to the point where I stumbled upon Tim's Military Arms Channel page on some product review and eventually his voiced opinions surrounding the political buzz on "fully automatic military grade assault weapons". Soooo I started watching more of his videos regarding those completely misguided political statements, and found myself in agreement with pretty much everything he had to say.

Anyways things sort of took off from there. I later on found myself on other YouTube pages: Range Time w/ Cory & Erika, Iraqveteran8888, James Yeager, faliaphotography, hickok, HossUSMC, etc. And of course, can't forget to mention Magpul Dynamic's Art of Tactical Carbine with Chris Costa & Travis Haley.