PDA

View Full Version : ATF Adding More NFA Branch Staff, Reducing Backlog, Re-Designing eForms System. Again.

MoxyDave
18 April 2014, 20:25
Story at The Truth About Guns (http://www.thetruthaboutguns.com/2014/04/foghorn/atf-adding-nfa-branch-staff-reducing-backlog-re-designing-eforms-system/#more-311861)

I didn't investigate the changes they mention but you have to wonder where the funding is suddenly coming from for this ... my guess is the NSA.

From the ATF letter: "Each Wednesday, a day selected based on use patterns and with the input of our customers, ATF will close the system for routine maintenance and processing."

As a computer expert, I am appalled by these numbers. In my industry an entire weekday of downtime is completely absurd.

When I was an Enterprise system administrator for the Air Force we were held to a standard of "Three Nines". This means 99.9% availability in any given time frame: High Availability on WikiPedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High_availability). This is a pretty common industry standard. 99.9% availability translates to 8.76 hours PER YEAR.

Now you can see why I think being down for a full day each week is absurd.

gatordev
19 April 2014, 14:02
MoxyDave, I'm not sure if you've had any experience with .gov computer contracts and/or usage, but the world of government computer usefulness is an entirely different universe. Over-bidding and under-delivering (or maybe it's Under-bidding and under-delivering) is just the way things seem to be in .gov computer contracts. I was amused by the "revelations" concerning how a government contracted system couldn't keep up with demand when the ACA system was rolled out, especially when so many states didn't start their own system (note: this is independent of actual opinions of ACA as a law).

Some examples I've "enjoyed" over my last 16 years include: