PDA

View Full Version : New At this please help

weaveand
23 June 2014, 22:20
I am new to "building" an AR15. I have upper all but complete. I installed the bolt today. I know that when you charge an AR, the bolt comes back, and then springs back forward once you press the bolt release. My question is, what causes it to spring back forward? I do not have a completed lower yet, that is my next purchase. Is the spring that causes it to come back forward in the lower, or am I missing something in the upper? Below is a list of all the parts I have into the upper. Sorry if this is a stupid question, but again I am new to this. Thanks

● upper receiver
● bcg
● charging handle
● Forward Assist Assembly
● ejection port cover
● 16" Barrel
● Free floating barrel nut
● Free float quad rail
● gas block
● gas tube
● crush washer
● muzzle break

camomike
23 June 2014, 23:21
This video is going to be a cut out of the inner working of the AR15. It shows the BCG charging the buffer and spring back into the extension tube. The spring then drives buffer back forward, which in turn pushes the BCG back into battery.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j3ocGn4LD6g

List of parts looks good to me.

mustangfreek
24 June 2014, 02:28
Everyone is a newbie at some point...[:D]

So it sounds like you have all the parts to assemble the upper? If so how did you get the list ? friend?

What brand/model parts do u have, will ne easier to help you out if we know wjat you got already?
Whats the gun , gonna be used for? Also how much are you willing to spend=budget?

There are a lot of ways to go about doing the lower, pic a brand and go for it , ( and please research some) have a shop build it, have a friend help you or be brave and watch videos and if your halfway mechanically inclined, you'll see the lower is much easier to put together then the upper is.