PDA

View Full Version : External Plate/Soft Armor carrier suggestions?

Nathan_Mack
14 September 2014, 16:19
My Shellback Banshee carrier that I've been toting about for 2 years no longer has the blessing of my department (multicam looks like evil?). So, I am looking for a new rig. I could go get a black Banshee rig, but the frontal area is minimal (by design) and I want more soft armor coverage options.

I've been all over the interwebs and I am coming up short of things. Shellback makes the Aggressor, but I don't need/want badge grommets on the front and it's velcro area for patches is too minimal, so...

Anyone with suggestions for a soft/hard armor carrier that won't bankrupt me? TYR makes some sick rigs, but they are all $450+. There must be a black color options, don over the head and have MOLLE on the front at a minimum. No Safariland or Point Blank stuff, either.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions. Feel free to post pics.

DutyUse
14 September 2014, 16:50
I've been saving my pennies for a FirstSpear Strandhogg. It's one of the pricier rigs but the tube system ease of entry would make donning it quick. Which is what you would need if you had to break out a PC. Just my two cents

UWone77
14 September 2014, 19:12
I use a Tactical Tailor Fight Light Carrier at work.

Range use... the Grey Ghost Gear Minimalist carrier is hard to beat.

Just curious, what about the Banshee isn't good to go with your department anymore? I'm all too familiar with regulations that don't make any sense, so I feel your pain there.

Nathan_Mack
14 September 2014, 19:24
I use a Tactical Tailor Fight Light Carrier at work.

Range use... the Grey Ghost Gear Minimalist carrier is hard to beat.

Just curious, what about the Banshee isn't good to go with your department anymore? I'm all too familiar with regulations that don't make any sense, so I feel your pain there.