PDA

View Full Version : Lefty AR-15

KW900A
4 October 2014, 11:56
Hey all, new here. Joined up for stick's giveaway and have been lurking around taking it all in. Lots of good people and info here.

I'm a little new to the AR-15 game, I've always been more focused on long range shooting, primarily with .308 and .338 lapua. My brother in law is a AR-15 buff and I have enjoyed getting to know his guns. Awhile back I won a DSA multi-caliber lower in a local raffle and have been wanting to build it. I shoot left handed as I am left eye dominant. I have spent my life fairly comfortable with right hand guns, but figure since I have a chance to build a gun for me, why not make it left handed? Who makes good left handed uppers, a local shop here told me stag makes some, which I have looked into. I was wondering if there were others and/or any pros and cons about them.

Sorry for the winded dissertation, but thanks for any advice/help!

Sak007
4 October 2014, 12:27
I also am curious if Stag is the only lefty maker . I'm waiting on a Saker 7.62 and have been wondering if i was gonna be running into gassing issues as I shoot lefty ?

GOST
4 October 2014, 12:46
http://www.weaponevolution.com/forum/showthread.php?6188-Coming-Soon-CMT-Tactical-Left-Handed-Uppers

Sak007
4 October 2014, 13:22
Now if I could find a tin or nib lefty bolt :(

VIPER 237
4 October 2014, 13:31
I'm lefty, and I cannot stand LH uppers. I had a stag and I hated it. There is no good reason to get one, and you are generally stuck with lesser quality components that cost more. All a lefty needs to do is make sure the upper has a brass deflector and then add an ambi charging handle. BCM is having one of the best sales ever on their uppers and their quality is some of the best in the industry, and I would run a BCM every time over the lefty upper available.