PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question, yes I'll be THAT guy today

KW900A
14 October 2014, 08:06
Ok, I've done a little searching here but haven't found what I am after. I'm still a little new to the AR-15 game, my experience lies in long range bolt action shooting mostly. I try my best to find answers to my own questions, but sometimes that doesn't work out. Is there a good write up on here that breaks down all the components, what they look like, what they do and what the options are? I have a lower that I won in a local giveaway, and am wanting to build it to really learn the guns and have one of my own, but to be quite honest, some of the lingo is still a foreign language to me. I was hoping there was a thread here or a recommended page that would break it all down.

Thanks a bunch, I appreciate the knowledge

velocity2006
14 October 2014, 08:38
For your first AR-15 I would just go basic and spend the rest of your budget on ammo/optics. Most Mil-spec components from reputable vendors will serve your purpose just fine. Depending on what role you want the rifle to play will determine what kind of barrel setup your going to want. Kind of need more info to recommend anything.

Personally I would look at a PSA CHF upper for a first AR as they are very inexpensive for what you get (450ish if you find them on sale w/ bolt carrier group and charging handle included), you could also look at Aero Precision. If your looking for a bit more quality a tier above that I would say BCM or Daniel Defense. Going above that you would be into the high end component/dollar game and there are tons of options available (Umbrella, Noveske, Larue, Northtech, Rainier, Mega, Adcor, 2A, to name a few.)

KW900A
14 October 2014, 09:29