PDA

View Full Version : How to convert RAW/DNG into Hi-Res JPEG

Ordnance
10 December 2014, 19:21
This might be the wrong place to ask, so if it needs move I apologize. I have a basic question and Google is just telling me to go f@#k myself. If I have a high resolution photo on Photoshop, how do I save it as a JPEG and not lose it? When I save it as a DNG it's 10mb, but when I convert it to a JPEG it drops to 1.5MB. I have basic Photoshop Elements 7 if that helps.

Ride4frnt
10 December 2014, 19:32
Do raw images open in elements? I know in CS5 raw images open in camera raw, a different application. You tweak them in camera raw then they open in Photoshop and you do what you will, then save as JPEG.

Gaspipeshooter
10 December 2014, 19:35
When you do "Save as" and selecting JPEG it is saving it at the 1.5 MB? What about .PNG?

Ride4frnt
10 December 2014, 19:36
Also, and I'm far from an expert on photography, but if you have the storage space, you should save yourself a personal copy in TIFF. TIFF won't display online, so you'll need a JPEG for that, but a JPEG degrades (albeit very tiny bits) every time you open it. TIFF is high quality lossless compression, great for printing.

Ordnance
10 December 2014, 20:28
After you open it in the RAW format it allows you to open it in Photoshop as what I assume is a PSD. Once you're done editing you can save it as I can save it as a PSD which for a photo I just did is 10mb, but then unless someone has a way of reading it then I have to save a copy as a JPEG which it only saves as 1.5MB. I'll see what happens if I save it as a TIFF...

Ordnance
10 December 2014, 20:31
When I save it as a PNG it converts the JPEG to 2.5MB which is slightly better. When I save it as a TIFF though it's 13.1MB

CarbonScoring
10 December 2014, 20:53