PDA

View Full Version : 1-4x or magnifier?

Pyzik
17 December 2014, 08:40
So now that I've got this pistol (almost) completed I am looking at just tossing the PA micro onto it and upgrading my carbine to something with some magnification.

I've been looking at the PA 1-4x vs adding a magnifier to a red dot.

Just looking for some opinions and experience of some of you.

UWone77
17 December 2014, 09:51
Definitely go 1-4. Magnifiers as far as I'm concerned all pretty much suck, and usually cost a lot.

alamo5000
17 December 2014, 09:58
My experience with magnifiers has been very mixed as well. I'm no expert but I can spot a piece of #### in no time.

Pyzik
17 December 2014, 10:07
That's what I've been reading as far as magnafiers as well as heavy.

GOST
17 December 2014, 10:33
So far I've only used a magnifier to assist with zeroing a red dot.

Ride4frnt
17 December 2014, 11:03
PA 1-6 if you can find one

Eta: in stock at primary arms and aim surplus. If you have the extra scratch after Christmas, their 1-6 is a worthy upgrade over the 1-4, IMO.

Pyzik
17 December 2014, 11:07
PA 1-6 if you can find one
Yeah... I've been watching videos on that one.

I'll have to wait to pick that one up. Though it's the better option. I just hate having to wait.

EDIT: I really don't have the cash right now. :( Maybe if it were to go on a sale that I just couldn't pass up.
My logical side is telling me to just wait and get the 1-6.

Ride4frnt
17 December 2014, 11:19
Buy a few scratch offs

FortTom
17 December 2014, 13:17
Definitely go 1-4. Magnifiers as far as I'm concerned all pretty much suck, and usually cost a lot.

My sentiments also, even expensive magnifiers. Get everything in one package, and it should be lighter and one less thing to worry about going wrong.

FT

FortTom
17 December 2014, 13:19
So far I've only used a magnifier to assist with zeroing a red dot.
Are you sure you're looking through the right end, GOST?[:D][BD]

Pyzik
17 December 2014, 13:23