PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed

GunDogRandomness
30 December 2014, 10:52
I'm working on the finishing touches on a pistol build and I have seen an issue I hope can be easily fixed. This is only my third build so I am not an expert. Here is the problem:

Once fully assembled I wanted to check for functionality and loaded a round in a mag to make sure it would chamber properly. While the round did make it into the chamber the BCG was only about 80% forward. Not even far enough that the forward assist would be able to help. I have to lock the bolt to the rear and turn the rifle vertical to extract the round. My first guess was an issue with the BCG but I have used it in another rifle without a single issue with nearly 500 rounds.

Would headspace be an issue? The upper parts I am using are a Spikes BCG, Spikes upper, and an Aero 10.5 barrel. I am going to try switching to my BCM BCG this evening to see if that helps. If anyone has any other ideas let me know.

Thanks in advance for any assistance!

Dstrbdmedic167
30 December 2014, 11:01
Headspace is one thing you can check. You can also try different ammo. I had this issue with an aero barrel in the last and was due to out of spec ammo.

UWone77
30 December 2014, 11:03
Could be a number of things, but I would start where you were going... try another BCG and see where you're at.

Dstrbdmedic167
30 December 2014, 11:09
Just make sure you do one thing at a time and check to see if the problem is fixed. Don't do a bunch of things at once then when it's fixed your still left wondering....

WHSmithIV
30 December 2014, 11:31