PDA

View Full Version : 300 Blackout Die Set

Deadwing
11 September 2015, 01:23
I just bought a bunch of reloading equipment from a buddy of mine, and have everything i need to get started reloading and then some. With my Saker 762 sitting in jail, a 300BLK upper is next on my list of projects, and i'd like to get what i need to reload 300BLK to make the most of it (shooting suppressed, that is). But, being new to reloading in general, i want to make sure i get a quality set of dies to start with so i don't throw good money after bad buying crap dies. My press is an RCBS Rock Chucker. Anyone have any suggestions as to which die set i should go with for reloading 300 BLK? Or which die sets offer an overall higher level of quality, regardless of caliber (i've got a few more i'll be needing like .44 Mag, .357 Sig, and 40 S&W).

Thanks in advance!

mustangfreek
11 September 2015, 01:40
Im still new to the blackout scene but am using a hornady 2 die set and the Lee crimp die. So far setting up dies and making some testers, all looks fine with the dies so far.

Deadwing
11 September 2015, 01:58
Cool, man. Thanks for the info! I suppose powder is something else i should be looking for. I'd have to check my notes, but i think i read that H110 is the cats meow for 300BLK (don't recall if that was for subs, supersonic, or both). Either way, H110 seems to be OOS, so i'll need to research an alternative.

Uffdaphil
11 September 2015, 03:44
From my reading H110 is good only for supers. For subs I narrowed down to Reloader7, A1680 and 5744 in that order. Consensus is that 1680 reliable, but dirty. I only found 5744 available at local stores. But got lucky finding all four privately on MN Armslist.

mustangfreek
11 September 2015, 03:50
H110, 4227,lil gun,aa1680 are some of the popular powders

Dstrbdmedic167
11 September 2015, 04:29