PDA

View Full Version : Mossberg 930JM Pro/Salvo12 combo review

SwissyJim
5 October 2015, 17:06
ok, so up for your viewing pleasure is my half-assed review of both the Mossberg 930JM Pro semi auto shotgun as well as the SilencerCo Salvo12 suppressor.

Before I go any further, I am not a professional reviewer! Hell, I'm not even an Amateur reviewer... but rather just some dork with a camera, some toys and needing a reason to hit the range.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/165145882/Forums/salvo12a.jpg

So... the Mossie 930JM. I picked this up a couple of weeks ago simply for the reason of attaching my incoming Salvo12 to it. I had a Mossie 500 Mariner that had a cylinder bore - no choke tubes used. Since the Salvo12 uses a choke tube for attachment, it was out. So I sold it to a co-worker that was looking for something to 'discourage' the bears at his place in the wilderness. My only other shotgun is a Saiga12, that unfortunatley when I had Tony Rumore @ Tromix work on it, I had him chop the barrel below 18" then pin on his comp device to get over 18". So the threads were removed! unless I have him SBR it (which he offered) there will be no attaching the Salvo12 to it either.

I knew the Salvo12 was big... 12" big. So the thought of putting it on a 28" or longer barrel was not enticing, so I was looking for something shorter. Since everything I found to read said that a shotgun will pretty much pattern the same from 20" on up, choke for choke, with about a 10-15fps loss per inch of barrel lost. So I started looking for anything from 20" on, yet all I could find was 24" and 26". Enter the 930JM Pro... available in 22" and 24". And, I found the 22" for cheap online, for not much more than the next candidate, the Benelli Nova in 24". And I got the fun of the Semi over the reliability of the pump. (I like Semi's!)