PDA

View Full Version : Glock or Ruger?

GunnerJacky
6 October 2015, 01:06
Hey guys, I'm planning to buy another pistol for myself. I have been using Ruger for 5 years. Now want to try Glock. Which according to you is the best gun brand - Glock or Ruger?

Joelski
6 October 2015, 04:00
Oh boy...

+1 for the G gun!

alamo5000
6 October 2015, 06:25
"Which one is better"... ughhh. I dislike those kinds of questions for the most part. Any time you have a solid and good gun that isn't a POS then that is a 'good gun'. Saying blanketly that 'this is better than that'... not my bag. Unless there are specific reasons you (or anyone else) says that then it's not really a brand thing, at least not among the reputable manufacturers for the most part. That said some brands I will steer clear of.

I've taken probably a dozen or more people shopping for pistols and the first thing we do is decide (before we ever go) what the gun is going to be used for. After that we decide which one fits the shooter the best and is most comfortable. That narrows it down a lot. After that it's a matter of preference among good choices.

Either way I vote Sig [:D]

I do understand that Glocks have a huge following and are supposed to be awesome. I have never owned a Glock so I can't say one way or another (from personal experience). I personally have never been drawn to Glocks but it's not like I have anything against them.

BoilerUp
6 October 2015, 06:53
Both make fine pistols. Glock has much better adoption by military and law enforcement. Ruger SR9 has a manual safety if that's your preference.

DeviantLogic
6 October 2015, 12:23
Everything that alamo5000 said...except for the Sig part. :) What's it going to be used for? EDC? Nightstand gun? Glove compartment accessory? I personally like having multiple of the same make, just different sizes for different situations (ie G22, G23, G27, or M&P Full Size, Compact, Shield).

Uffdaphil
6 October 2015, 13:34