PDA

View Full Version : Could I Pick Your Brain?

Whitten
11 February 2009, 13:50
I am a relative newbie to the world of ARs I have been shooting them off and on now for 5 years and just last year got married...not to an AR but in the process of the "blessed" event I received a very generous gift from one of my groomsman that turned out to be a brand new DPMS AR-15 stripped lower in 5.56.
I have been slowly researching parts and buying little things while saving for an upper. I had originally planned to build it completely from the ground up but after being directed to POF-USA's website I fell in love with their uppers.

Now for the question part:
I have been patiently researching my upper decision and in my quest I have not found much information about POF here or even over at ar-15.
What is the general feeling about POF, and is no news a good thing in the world of the black rifle?

I realize that I can't ask a question without first giving some specifics about my purchases up until now and my intentions for the rifle so here goes.

To date I have:
3-30 round mags ranging from USGI to HK Maritime. The USGI have Magpul followers.
DPMS stripped lower.
VLTOR Standard Modstock kit with buffer tube, spring ,and buffer.
Magpul MIAD grip
Waiting on a parts kit
Heavily considering a Timney drop in

My plans for the weapon:
I intend to reload with a friend and shoot on average of about 1200-2000 per year maybe more depending on how much I can get off of work.
I am building this weapon right the first time because I never want to have a doubt in my mind that it will keep myself or my family safe. I am a big believer of you get what you pay for. I am not currently set to do any kind of classes with the weapon but would very much like to consider some due to my love for learning new skills and becoming generally more well rounded.
Overall I want a gun that I can rely on with my life, but also something that I can get enjoyment out of.