PDA

View Full Version : Who here hunts with 300AAC?

Army203
18 January 2016, 09:37
Just trying get some info on hunting with 300AAC. How well it works for you, do have a bullet or load type you like for white tail? Ect..

I am looking at using 300AAC this next season for hunting white tail here in Nebraska. The average shot here is well within 250 yards. Looking to buy a BMC 16inch upper, add some 1.5-6x glass or 2-8x glass to it. I may even suppress it since I can..no pun intended. Like I said something short range and the deer in east Nebraska aren't that massive.

I have heard that Barnes 120 stuff works well for white tail, has anyone used subsonic well? I am a complete noob to this round, but I know I want to use an AR and run it suppressed. I have a good 308 bolt rifle I like for larger game...mule deer..elk ect.

cjd3
18 January 2016, 10:59
I don't see the 300blk as a bad round for hunting, just not a great round. At least for Nosler, you'd need 1800 fps at the target for optimal bullet performance, so it should work well for upto 200 yards, but I doubt you can take it out much farther. Subs just won't cut it for a clean kill. I'd thread your 308 and suppress that. I'm threading my .30-06 for my fall moose hunt.

SwissyJim
18 January 2016, 11:08
Well, I have not hunted with mine, but I was gearing up to do so on a caribou hunt here in AK. Sadly that hunt fell thru but my luck may be improving... my nephew just bought a Piper Super Cub, which should expand our areas of hunting drastically.