PDA

View Full Version : Life dilemma - Career choice

Josh S.
22 January 2016, 16:18
Long-winded post here so go ahead and pop some popcorn, go to the bathroom, whatever you need to do lol

Alright, so here's where I'm at. When I was in high school I decided I was going to join the Marine Corps right after I graduated. I watched tons of videos, did research, etc, and was very excited to join, until I got curious one day and decided to look up the disqualifying factors for the Marines. There it was..."No asthma symptoms after your 13th birthday." I was crushed. I had been diagnosed with sports induced asthma in 6th grade, took an inhaler before playing baseball/football, and only had one attack when I was in 9th grade/14 yrs old. The attack happened at school baseball practice, the coach called an ambulance, and they took me to the hospital and I was released 2 hours later. I haven't had any symptoms in 6 years and haven't taken any medication in a little over 5 years.

I'm currently 20 years old, I have 2 years of college under my belt, but I quit school after last Spring semester to pursue a career in insurance. My parents own an insurance agency and they proposed the idea for me to quit school, get my adjuster license, and go to work for one of the big companies as a claims adjuster to get some experience and then take over their agency down the road after they retire. I got my license a few months ago and I'm in the process of searching for a job but as the title suggests, I'm having second-thoughts. Don't get me wrong, I'm extremely grateful for the opportunity my parents have given me, but do I really want to sit behind a desk for the next 30 years?