PDA

View Full Version : New HHD

Thompson
4 March 2016, 13:58
So I'm practically out of room on my current HHD now and in need of a replacement.

Been eyeing this one (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822236339) up for the past couple of months hoping it will go on sale, but no such luck.

In my current rig I've got the same Blue model but the 500 GB version, have had that since 2012, no problems to date.

My question is - do you guys find it worth it to get those couple-year protection plans? Or is it really not worth it. I'm more so worried about backing up all my pics. I had an external 1TB WD HHD ... but that tanked within 2 years, so I'm a little skeptical to get another external drive.

jim.bell
4 March 2016, 14:19
To specifically answer your question "it depends".

Although my degree is IT, I have never worked a day in an official It organization. This is just my opinion.

I use Synctoy to back up to two different online storage sites, plus we have NAS that we can backup other things too. I don't know if that helps or not. When I recently lost my personal laptop, I lost some stuff, but everything that I meant to keep was easily restored. $0.02

Any single hdd setup is an opportunity for an issue. A better solution is to either backup to an exterior drive (like you had) or another backup method. Currently, Amazon has an offer for unlimited photo storage. They also have a $60 annual plan that might make sense. If you spend $60 to buy another exterior hdd, you now have two places you can keep the data, which means if either fails you still have a backup to recover from.

EO3
4 March 2016, 15:06
Not sure about your budget here, but IMO a Solid State drive is always a much better option. Obviously more pricey, but WAY more reliable and WAY faster.

Joelski
4 March 2016, 15:37