PDA

View Full Version : BCM KMR is WEAK sauce!

Aragorn
11 June 2016, 12:12
So I'm no longer a fan of the BCM KMR, the original magnesium variant as I have no experience with the Alpha.

Why? Because it is super weak sauce.

The firearm was leaning against a wall, unloaded, on a rug carpet. It fell over. It landed on the front offset iron sight, which is a Griffin Armament. Ultimately a VERY low impact event.

Here is how well the KMR DIDN'T handle it.

And here is the front sight, which is what took the impact, and still looks new out of the wrapper.

Seriously? This is unacceptable. A front sight can no longer be utilized at the front of the forend anymore with any ghost of a hope of being aligned with a rear, and that's from simply falling over on a rug.

I'll will be contacting BCM about this and will report with how it pans out.

Jerry R
11 June 2016, 12:23
I will be following this thread with great interest. I have two.

UWone77
11 June 2016, 13:38
There are more than a few reports similar to this. The alpha is superior in every way except weight. I'm sure BCM will take care of you.

Slippers
11 June 2016, 13:48
I have already deformed a couple magnesium KMRs during destructive testing. The alpha is stronger and more rigid.

Want something really tough? Geissele.

Joelski
11 June 2016, 14:36
Mg just isn't strong in that thin of a structure. That lesson has been learned.

Stickman
11 June 2016, 16:22
Well that is troubling. Let us know what BCM says.

alamo5000
11 June 2016, 16:55
That sucks a lot. Seriously.

Here's to hoping that they do right.

EO3
11 June 2016, 19:06
I'd be pretty shocked if they don't make things right.

Joelski
11 June 2016, 21:36
I'd be pretty shocked if they don't make things right.

Second this. What amazes me is why they even tried it in the first place with all the knowledge from the motorcycle and aerospace industries alone.

tact
11 June 2016, 22:56