PDA

View Full Version : School me on other Calibers for AR-15

rxer311
1 December 2016, 15:57
To start the thread out I need to outline specifically the information I am looking for.

I am a resident of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and this past month a bill was signed into law lifting the ban on semi-auto hunting here. Basically, the ban is lifted but it is up to the game commission to outline the new rules. I have been in communication with some other sources that I consider reliable that are telling me that hunting small game will probably be approved for all calibers including the 5.56 or .223. The same sources are also telling me that it is very likely that they will allow deer hunting with semi-auto rifles, but caliber will (rightfully and reasonably IMO) be restricted to .243 and above.

I have to admit that up to this point I have not been a hunter, but have always been interested into getting into the sport. Up to this point the only other caliber that I know anything (though still not much) about is the 300 blk.

So my questions are as follows:
1. What calibers are available to me in a small frame AR?
2. What are the limitations of those calibers? Where do they excel? (ex. what are my range limitations, ballistic expectations, etc)

In Pennsylvania, the longest shot I could probably take a shot at would be 200 yds, max...but most shots would probably be 150 yds and in (more likely 100 yds and in). Though if I put this rig together, I may want to take it with me to other areas of the country, so I am also interested in versatility.

Is 300 blk good enough or should I just build a large frame AR in .308?

Stone
1 December 2016, 16:07
6.8 would be perfect for you. There is everything you wanted to know and more at http://68forums.com/forums/forum.php
Good bunch of dudes over there.

cjd3
1 December 2016, 18:43