PDA

View Full Version : What are your favorite rail covers?

n4p226r
6 December 2016, 16:58
Doesn't matter what rail type it's for. Keymod. Mlok. Picatinny. Post pics and a description of what you like. I'm considering swapping out my noveske keymod for a noveske mlok just because the Nagpur mlok stuff feels nice from what I can tell.

Axlnut
6 December 2016, 17:18
LaRue index clips, Surefire Ladder covers, Transformer Grip panels, G10.

Aragorn
6 December 2016, 17:30
I'm a big fan of BCM's Keymod panels. They're thin at .100", easy on and easy off but will not come off by accident. Pretty grippy too, without being abrasive. Nice all around and don't have that chintzy feel that the Noveske panels do.

Here's some pics, the Arisaka mount gives some reference for thickness.

That said, I am planning on supplementing with a set of Railscales at 3, 6, and 9:00. I've never used them before, and I'd be adding them primarily for aesthetic reasons, but the slight increase in thickness will be welcome, as will be their more bite-y texture (but I also enjoy fairly aggressive textures).

https://www.railscales.us/pages/railscales-in-depth

Aragorn
6 December 2016, 17:32
LaRue index clips, Surefire Ladder covers, Transformer Grip panels, G10.

Oh yeah, what he said. LaRue index clips are the heat for picatinny, and you can see I have them on my top rail in my pics above. Also the mentioned Railscales are G10, though they also make a less expensive glass filled nylon version, albeit, in different lengths.

UWone77
6 December 2016, 18:16
Picatinny = Surefire Ladder covers
MLOK = Magpul Type 1
KeyMod = BCM

Axlnut
6 December 2016, 18:25
Still my absolute favorite.

When you really want G10 that adds almost zero width, so you have to design a little panel system, a forend to wear it, then license them to someone willing to make it.

After that you call David at Executive Ordnance and ask him real super nice to make some panels...

Buying stuff is just too easy for me [BD]